Summary
It is possible to merge specific types of records in White Cup CRM. This is separate from the Mass Dedupe Tool. Multiple records can be selected directly in the grid and then actioned to merge the selected records. Users with the required permissions will have the option to select specific information to retain for the resulting record that is created from the merge process. The records being merged are hidden from view and a new record is created using information from the selected merging records. The types of records that are capable of being merged are:
- Accounts
- Contacts
- Products
- Opportunities
- Services
- Ship To Customers
Prerequisites
An admin must first assign the needed role (in the User Permissions & Access Roles admin area) the ability to merge specific types of records by selecting the option next to the record (module) type in the Merge column of the role editor.
Merge Process
To perform a record merge, go to one of the grid views for one of the record types that your user role is permitted to use the merge action on. This may be: Accounts, Contacts, Products, Opportunities, Services, or Ship To Customers.
- The following example will go to the Accounts grid from the Connections menu. Locate the records to be merged. Multiple records may be selected beyond a minimum of 2 by using the check box on the left side of the grid next to each record.
- After selecting the appropriate records, the Actions button will be available in the upper-right above the grid to the left of the other buttons in that area. Click the Actions button and then click "Merge selected" from the drop down menu.
- The next screen that appears will display a description of the purpose and what action needs to be done in order to successfully merge the records. Merging records removes the selected records from view and creates an entirely new record of the applicable type (Account, contact, product, etc.). This page allows for selecting which information will appear on that new record, to indicate what gets retained and what does not after the selected records are removed from view as a result of the merge action.
The small question mark icons to the right of some fields will display additional context for that field when placing the mouse pointer over the question mark. Fields that do not have information in them will be greyed-out as there will be nothing to select as an option for that field from a drop drown. Be certain to scroll down the entire page as there are likely to be many fields, up to and including an Audit section where dates such as the created date can be selected. The end of the available fields will be indicated with a 'Back to Top' link at the very bottom which can quickly return to the top of the page.
- If there is any doubt or a problem with the information or records for the merge, click the Cancel button to go back to the previous grid view to address the issue. When the field selection and the merge is satisfactory, click the Save button in the top-right corner.
- The merge action will then take place using the information selected. When the process completes it will automatically display the new record.
Note: Prospect accounts created in CRM can be merged to the corresponding ERP record after the nightly sync, or the ERP ID can be added prior to the sync to prevent duplicate records. Read more here about maintaining prospect accounts.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.